The Art of Touching Others

I generally don’t tell a lot of people this, but I’m a licensed massage therapist (LMT).  I don’t actively do massage therapy as a job, or on the side, but I keep my license up for special situations.

This last Sunday my church held a health fair, and I was there to do five minute massages (with one other LMT).  We had a vegetarian taste fest as the main attraction, and there were a number of other health and wellness and spiritual health activities and booths.  A lot of people came out.

This probably won’t surprise you, but beside the vegetarian taste fest, the five minute massage was the most popular place to be.  We had a line for pretty much all of the four hours we were there.

Sometimes as I looked at the next person in line, while not looking down on anyone, I would think, ‘Oh, I’d rather give a massage to that other person in line.’  But as I’d start working on them, I could feel their problems, and sometimes I would put a bit extra into someone if I could feel issues, or if they had been having a hard day.

I think life is like that.  Sometimes we look at others and think, ‘I don’t want to touch that individual. It looks like too much work, or not much fun.’  And then when we touch their lives, helping them with their problems becomes compelling.  We want to help because of the need, not in spite of the need.

We need to see people differently, and touch people differently than our natural impressions would have us.

One thought on “The Art of Touching Others

  1. This might be one of my favorite posts by you TA. I appreciate the realness of it, and what you learned.
    Reminds me of one of my favorite SOP quotes, “We are all woven together in the great web of humanity, and whatever we can do to benefit and uplift others will reflect in blessing upon ourselves.”

    In reference to the chair massage, ME NEXT! :-)

Leave a Reply

