Hunger and Thirst

Matthew 5:6 – Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.

Why should I be happy when I hunger and thirst for righteous? It is because of hope. When I feel the great need for righteousness, and pursue it like I do a meal when I have missed one or two, I will find an end to that hunger. Righteousness will be realized, and closeness with God will be attained.

John 6:27 – Labor for the food that lasts forever that we get from Jesus.
Psalm 42:1,2 – As the deer longs for water, so I should long for God.
Psalm 63:1,2 – My soul longs for God like a traveler in a desert. A good place to look for God is in the sanctuary.
Psalm 107:9 – The great, personal God satisfies and fills the longing soul.
Isaiah 44:3 – God satisfies the thirsty, but more than satisfies, He provides floods of provisions!

Another verse that I find pertinent is one I memorized while at Mission College. What should I find more important if I am running late: eating breakfast or partaking of the word of God?

Job 23:12 – Neither have I gone back from the commandment of his lips; I have esteemed the words of his mouth more than my necessary food.

This seeking is important, because the finding and satisfying will not be guaranteed forever. A famine is coming for the word of the Lord (Amos 8:11-13). A search for the phrase “seek me” is enlightening. Jeremiah 29:13 promises a positive conclusion to a deep longing. Yet, when wisdom (God personified) is disregarded when it gives advice (there is a way that seems right to a man, but it ends in death), there is an end to the probation, so to speak (Proverbs 1:28). Also, Isaiah 58:2 (and on) talks about those who like pursuing the formalities of religion, but resist the practical applications of it. Those individuals will not find God, nor find their religion respected.

God is looking for a heart religion and a heart longing.

Yet that purity of motive and longing is not native to me. My heart is deceitful and desperately wicked (Jeremiah 17:9). How do I find the solution to this conundrum?

Romans 5:6-8 – For when we were still without strength, in due time Christ died for the ungodly.(7) For scarcely for a righteous man will one die; yet perhaps for a good man someone would even dare to die. (8) But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.
John 12:32 – And I, if I be lifted up from the earth, will draw all men unto me.
Psalms 37:4 – Delight thyself also in the LORD; and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart.

I am not starting from nothing. God loved me first, and Christ died for me, and He exerts a drawing power on us all. When I respond to the drawing, Christ gives me new desires in two ways: first I am given new desires; the old ones are replaced. Then, those new desires are fulfilled in God’s timing. One of those new desires is a greater longing for righteousness.

God wants to establish you in an ever-widening positive cycle. Respond to his drawing to day with a longing for his righteousness. He will help to build that desire, and is waiting to pour out floods of blessings into your life.

I hope you have a hungry day today.

Leave a Reply

