Directing My Steps

Proverbs 16:9 – A man’s heart plans his way, but the Lord directs his steps.

It’s so easy to feel small and uncertain in life.  There are so many big decisions to make.  How are we supposed to get them right?  What should we study?  What career should we choose (or job to take)? Who should I pick to date/marry? How in the world do I raise kids? How can I make a difference in the world?

These questions can be confusing and frustrating.  Especially if you don’t feel that you have people you can trust to help give you good advice.  There doesn’t seem to be an education for a lot of life decisions, or maybe I’m speaking from my own perspective.

What I find most encouraging is what I like to call the Christian’s advantage.  We study the Bible for truths and principles to live by.  We pray and make the best decisions that we can.  As we move forward in life, and ask God to live in us and be involved in our lives, God is able to arrange events in ways that we never could have planned for.  (God does things in answer to our prayers that he wouldn’t otherwise).

I’m not saying we’re protected from negative circumstances (and the more information we gather, the better informed decisions we can make), but when we don’t have all the information necessary to make the optimal decision, God leads us in life.  He grows and develops us, and can take us from hopeless situations to places we are much better suited (think Joseph going from prison to the palace).  God’s all-wise guidance is the Christian’s advantage.

I know I need this in my life.

2 thoughts on “Directing My Steps

  1. I enjoyed reading this. I completely agree. I’d like to add a couple thoughts in response if you don’t mind. I believe God leads and guides in the lives of his people as well as those who don’t acknowledge him. The “Christian’s advantage” is that they choose to ask and accept his leading in a personal way. Sometimes as a Christian i still reject the direction and guidance of his still small voice. And sometimes those who don’t claim to know God are listening to the voice of their concience… and they are following Him. He’s watching everyone and seeking opportunities to lead each to a closer relationship with Him.

    We get so caught up in the “important” issues in life that we forget God might not have the same priorities as we do. What’s important to him is likely that we learn to trust him, while we think we should have a life partner or a great job.

Leave a Reply

