God, Hope, and the Impossible

“Nothing is impossible with God. Nothing is so entangled that it cannot be remedied; no human relationship is too strained for God to bring about reconciliation and understanding; no habit so deep rooted that it cannot be overcome; no one is so weak that he cannot be strong; no one is so ill that he cannot be healed. No mind is so dull that it cannot be made brilliant. Whatever we need if we trust God He will supply it. If anything is causing worry or anxiety, let us stop rehearsing the difficulty and trust God for healing, love, and power.” {Review & Herald, October 7, 1865}

The loss of hope is a terrible thing, and I think it is a great fear of ours to lose hope.  I think we all have relationships that are so strained we fear there is no hope of a reconciliation.  We fear that there are diseases from which there is no hope of healing.  We fear that our personal weaknesses have no hope of ever becoming strengths.

When I was younger I was immensely and painfully shy.  I was so shy I didn’t want to continue playing the piano because I never wanted to have to give a recital.  I was so shy that someone said they would pay for me to get a soda at a fast food restaurant, but it was too painful to go to the counter and ask for a cup.  Over the years as I’ve gotten older, I made a decision to purposefully put myself in situations where I could be positively influenced.  As I became involved in many church outreach programs over the years I developed social skill sets that have enabled people to see me as a confident outspoken person.  It has been an amazing transformation that is still ongoing.  When I see people who are on some part of the journey that I have traveled I have a deep desire to let them know that there is hope for who they can become.

The very fact that God is involved with our world brings hope to all impossible situations.  God can inject his recreative power into all areas of our lives to induce outcomes that had zero probability otherwise.  God can renew the most debased addicts.  He can save the most torn relationships.  He can provide healing in terrifying medical situations (He will do this for all physical ailments of believers, whether now or at the resurrection).

Don’t lose hope in your impossible situation.  God works miracles every day.  If, when, and how are unanswered questions, but let the fact that God is involved provide you with an unquenchable hope even in the most formidable circumstances.

Leave a Reply

