“I Didn’t Love My Wife When We Got Married”

This article: “I Didn’t Love My Wife When We Got Married” is a must read.  Props to Nicole Parker for the fb post.

I think the concept of love needs to be more fully developed in our minds.  I read something somewhere (it’s so far back in the sands of time in my mind that I unfortunately don’t remember where) that described love as less picnics, kisses, and fireworks, and more willingness to change dirty diapers, doing unpleasant things to support the family, and being kind when sick and tired.

Here’s a teaser:

And after each time, there would be this look she would give me.  This look of absolute love.  One that was soft and so beautiful.

It took me longer than I care to admit to understand what was happening.

and

Being sappy isn’t love.  Telling someone you love them doesn’t mean that you do.

2 thoughts on ““I Didn’t Love My Wife When We Got Married”

    • There is a lot more to love than the warm fuzzies. I’m not saying they don’t have a place, but love is much deeper and broader to that. The principle which is even deeper than love is selflessness.

Leave a Reply

