Uncertainty About the Future

Many are unable to make definite plans for the future. Their life is unsettled. They cannot discern the outcome of affairs, and this often fills them with anxiety and unrest. Let us remember that the life of God’s children in this world is a pilgrim life. We have not wisdom to plan our own lives. It is not for us to shape our future. “By faith Abraham, when he was called to go out into a place which he should after receive for an inheritance, obeyed; and he went out, not knowing whither he went.” Hebrews 11:8. – The Ministry of Healing p 478

I have a lot of anxieties in my life.  One of the epicenters of anxiety is work.  It is the cardinal sin of an MBA not to have a career goal, a position you calculate everything you do to try to reach.  I don’t have a goal like that, (well, I might, but I’m not sure).  In school I was good at generally everything I did, and I didn’t have to narrow things down.  I can do all the different business disciples well, and better than most.  When I set up a meeting with a VP for career advice, they ask me what my goal is.  I’m never quite sure what to say, so I generally give the position that they have so I can understand what that option is better.  Combine this with no clear career path for my current position.

All I can say is that having a personal God that is leading my life is a great comfort to me.  I don’t know how to get from where I am to where I might want to go, or where God wants to take me.  However, I do have a God that has a plan for my life, and He generally doesn’t do things in a linear A to Z manner that we humans like.

So let my prayer be:

Lead me, Lord, lead me in thy righteousness;
make thy way plain before my face.
For it is thou, Lord, thou, Lord only,
that makest me dwell in safety.

Leave a Reply

