What God Longs For

You need not go to the ends of the earth for wisdom, for God is near. It is not the capabilities you now possess or ever will have that will give you success. It is that which the Lord can do for you. We need to have far less confidence in what man can do and far more confidence in what God can do for every believing soul. He longs to have you reach after Him by faith. He longs to have you expect great things from Him. He longs to give you understanding in temporal as well as in spiritual matters. He can sharpen the intellect. He can give tact and skill. Put your talents into the work, ask God for wisdom, and it will be given you. – Christ’s Object Lessons 146.4

Jeremiah 33:3 – Call unto me, and I will answer thee, and show thee great and mighty things, which thou knowest not.

I can think of times and places where it’s good to have mentors, people that can provide perspectives on our situations that are unattainable by ourselves.  Lots of leadership books extol the virtues of such relationships  But sometimes these individuals sit on too high of a pedestal.  God wants us to trust him more than the experts of the world.  There are lessons in the Bible that speak to the situations that we are in, and we can find them if we look for them.

The top three life decisions on my mind now are: a life partner, career direction, and personal ministry.  I so need God’s help.  Sometimes I feel like I’m wandering in a dark cave that is full of holes without a light.  That’s what it feels like when facing huge life decisions with an insufficient amount of data, wisdom, and experience.

God wants to help us live life.  We should seek Him out like some do the experts of the world.  He wants us to need and ask big things from him.  He longs for that. I am so glad that is his desire, because I really, really, really need His help.  I feel so deficient so often.  I need a God that wants to help me more than any mentor.  I’m so glad He is like that, and that He’s capable.

Leave a Reply

