Heart Disease of the Mind

Matthew 6:21 – For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.

I am studying through the book of Matthew. It’s an on-and-off study I’ve been doing for a little over a year. I use the Treasury of Scripture Knowledge in my Blue Letter Bible app to look up cross references that I then write in my margins.

I was in Matthew 6 tonight in the above verse. The following verse really got me.

Jeremiah 4:14 – O Jerusalem, wash thine heart from wickedness, that thou mayest be saved. How long shall thy vain thoughts lodge within thee?

I’ve been feeling very media saturated this week. I have watched TV, which I don’t do normally, and been on YouTube more than normal. I feel like I’m getting mentally clogged with junk. I’m not putting the best stuff into me, and I’m feeling lethargic. It’s like heart disease of the mind.

What we feed our minds with makes a huge difference. I need good inputs, and need to stop wasting so much time. I want my heart to be washed, and vain thoughts to no longer lodge in me. No more junk food, just the bread of life, and my mind on the things of heaven and not of earth.

Leave a Reply

