Signs of a Better Me

Trials patiently borne, blessings gratefully received, temptations manfully resisted, meekness, kindness, mercy, and love habitually revealed, are the lights that shine forth in the character in contrast with the darkness of the selfish heart, into which the light of life has never shone. – {MB 44.4}

Philippians 1:6 – Being confident of this very thing, that He who has begun a good work in you will complete it until the day of Jesus Christ;

I learned a lesson today. I had a friend tell me I wasn’t being kind. I reviewed the interaction in question in my mind, and saw that I was factually correct in my seemingly unkind statement. But that doesn’t mean it was said in the best way. Truth must be joined with a proper communication. The quote above resonates with me as it’s what I want defining me, rather than a series of foot-in-mouth situations. Friends are there to help us realize when we didn’t do the best we could have. Which is precisely what I was saying of someone else.

Leave a Reply

