A Stark Valuation of Heaven

Humble your poor, proud, self-righteous heart before God; get low, very low, all broken in your sinfulness at His feet. Devote yourself to the work of preparation. Rest not until you can truly say: My Redeemer liveth, and, because He lives, I shall live also. – {OFC 315.4}

If you lose heaven, you lose everything; if you gain heaven, you gain everything. Do not make a mistake in this matter, I implore you. Eternal interests are here involved. – {OFC 315.5}

Ezekiel 33:11
Say to them: ‘ As I live,’ says the Lord God, ‘I have no pleasure in the death of the wicked, but that the wicked turn from his way and live. Turn, turn from your evil ways! For why should you die, O house of Israel? ’

This really struck me this morning because of the intensity of the plea. Both the quote and the Scripture place such a high value on the prize to be won, and the corresponding depth of the loss. Life is not a game.

I had a conversation yesterday about what it takes to excel at work. It would do us well to view our spiritual lives through the same glasses and make sure of our eternal destiny. In the same way that my college GPAs don’t matter so much now that I actually have a job, there are activities that we do that will lose their significance one we have won or lost heaven.

Leave a Reply

