God will not impart to men divine light while they are content to remain in darkness. In order to receive God’s help, man must realize his weakness and deficiency; he must apply his own mind to the great change to be wrought in himself; he must be aroused to earnest and persevering prayer and effort. Wrong habits and customs must be shaken off; and it is only by determined endeavor to correct these errors and to conform to right principles that the victory can be gained. Many never attain to the position that they might occupy, because they wait for God to do for them that which He has given them power to do for themselves. All who are fitted for usefulness must be trained by the severest mental and moral discipline, and God will assist them by uniting divine power with human effort. – Patriarchs and Prophets p 248

James 1:5 – If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all liberally and without reproach, and it will be given to him.

I think a lot of times Christians just expect things to work out. Like God will sprinkle pixie dust on a situation and fix it because we’re part of the Jesus club.

A lot still depends on us in life. God doesn’t save us from the outcomes of our actions. People smoke and then complain about getting lung cancer. I need to pray so I can see and overcome my weaknesses, and remember that that’s the main point in life anyhow. Although I freely admit I wish life was easier much of the time. However, I must avoid a ‘poor me’ complex.