Morning Poetry

I really like hymns.  And I like them for being more than just music, I like the poetry that underlies them.  A hymnbook is really a collection of sublime Christian poetry.

My brother and I enjoy different things when it comes to music.  He’s a doctoral music performance student and enjoys the musical phrasing.  On the other hand, I’ll say something like, “Wow, the third line of the second verse is really profound!”

Anyhow, I want to share some poetry.  It’s from the hymnal, but Allie Lapointe does a good job with a new melody in her album “Treasures”. Cyber hymnal helped me discover an awesome second verse I didn’t know about.

My Father is rich in houses and lands,
He holdeth the wealth of the world in His hands!
Of rubies and diamonds, of silver and gold,
His coffers are full, He has riches untold.

Refrain

I’m a child of the King,
A child of the King:
With Jesus my Savior,
I’m a child of the King.

My Father’s own Son, the Savior of men,
Once wandered on earth as the poorest of them;
But now He is pleading our pardon on high,
That we may be His when He comes by and by.

Refrain

I once was an outcast stranger on earth,
A sinner by choice, an alien by birth,
But I’ve been adopted, my name’s written down,
An heir to a mansion, a robe and a crown.

Refrain

A tent or a cottage, why should I care?
They’re building a palace for me over there;
Though exiled from home, yet still may I sing:
All glory to God, I’m a child of the King.

Refrain

Leave a Reply

