A Barrier to Revival: Me

A revival of true godliness among us is the greatest and most urgent of all our needs. To seek this should be our first work. There must be earnest effort to obtain the blessing of the Lord, not because God is not willing to bestow His blessing upon us, but because we are unprepared to receive it. Our heavenly Father is more willing to give His Holy Spirit to them that ask Him than are earthly parents to give good gifts to their children. But it is our work, by confession, humiliation, repentance, and earnest prayer, to fulfill the conditions upon which God has promised to grant us His blessing. – {1SM 121.1}

There is something standing between myself and revival oftentimes. It’s myself. God wants to give me many blessings, but He can’t right now. I wouldn’t be able to handle them, like the disciples in John 16:12.

This is a problem. I want those blessings. What do I have to do to get them, since I’m in my own way? I have to go after God with a vengeance. I have to recognize that this experience is going to take time.

Oh God, help me to grow to be more like You.

Leave a Reply

