Nothing More Than Chemicals

I once had breakfast with an atheist who repeatedly insisted that there was no evidence for God—absolutely none. At one point during our meal he told me how much he loves his wife, and painfully recounted the details of her battle with disease. His wife was dying and he could do nothing. After all the intellectual arguments had run into a headstrong willful resistance, I asked him why he loved his wife. He stared at me. “Don’t you see her as a unique woman of intrinsic value to you?” I asked. “Yes,” he answered. “But how can she have such value,” I replied, “if all life is nothing more than chemicals?” Suddenly, the conversation took a turn. As we got up from
the table, he said, “You just keep doing what you’re doing in life. You are bringing back common sense into our heads.” – Ravi Zacharias “A Slice of Infinity” 3-14-12

Matthew 10:31 – Do not fear therefore; you are of more value than many sparrows.

10 thoughts on “Nothing More Than Chemicals

  1. ‘“Yes,” he answered. “But how can she have such value,” I replied, “if all life is nothing more than chemicals?” ‘

    Because I can choose to value whatever I want. And it is about value to me…not value independent of me.

    • The point is that in an entirely materialistic, natural-process world values are impossible. They cannot exist. The question is how they do. It points an origin of all things that is more than purely natural, mechanical.

      • Haha, you used the word value first, you define it. The general idea is that these are immaterial and can’t be explained by physical processes.

        I’ll get back to you on this later. Ever end up in a situation where you don’t remember the details?

  2. “The general idea is that these are immaterial and can’t be explained by physical processes. ”

    Sure they can. They’re called THOUGHTS. They are the result of consciousness, which is created by chemical and electric processes in our brains.

    These are very well understood by scientists.

      • I see no reason for that to be true, particularly given the simple fact that destroying parts or all of the brain result in changes, damage or destruction of the mind.

        You can go on claiming things. But you need to back things up with evidence if you want to convince anyone.

      • I’m still tracking down answers to your post. I recommend that you read “There Is a God” by Antony Flew. One of the most significant atheists in the last century speaks about how he began to believe in God. His philosophical arguments are very potent.

Leave a Reply

