Open (Close) My Eyes

What I look at with my eyes says a lot about who I am.  What do I watch?  What do I read?  Who do I look at?  How long do I look?  Why do I look?  What should my hazel eyes choose to take in?

There are things that I should and shouldn’t look at.  I noticed an interesting play on the use of eyes while reading in Psalm 119.

Psalm 119:18 – Open my eyes, that I may see wondrous things from Your law.

This is followed shortly by:

Psalm 119:37 – Turn away my eyes from looking at worthless things, and revive me in Your way.

Lord, open (close) my eyes so I can learn how to use them correctly.  Your law is worth looking at, illuminate it for me.  Break the gaze I hold with things that I should not, and give my eyes new life.

Lord, direct my gaze.  Show me how to see things through Your eyes.  If my eyes tell a story about who I am, let them tell about what I have learned of You.

Leave a Reply

