Fathoming the Deep Things of God

It is the duty of every child of God to store his mind with divine truth; and the more he does this, the more strength and clearness of mind he will have to fathom the deep things of God. And he will be more and more earnest and vigorous, as the principles of truth are carried out in his daily life. – {OFC 37.2}

This quote is interesting to me not so much because it talks about memorizing, or the benefits of meditation or studying, but because of the outcomes.

I don’t know about you, but I think it would be neat to understand the things of God deeper and deeper. I want to have the clearness and the strength that enables better perception of heavenly things. That sounds really appealing to me.

It also sounds like, as my earnestness and vigor are transformed, that it’s my motivations that are changing. I want that. I want to desire better things, and to have my impulses cleaned up.

All these mental exercises then transfer to the physical helping me to have a better life, and helping others have a better life.

Oh God, help me to store my mind with divine truth.

Leave a Reply

