Have a Poor Day Today

Matthew 5:3 – “Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

My natural position as a human being is to present myself in the most possible light. I was taught in school to spin myself in the best ways on my résumé. We think as human beings about how to move ourselves forward in life, how to attain our goals, and how to make people think better of us. I’m not saying that at some point these things might not be necessary, but without a change, we inherently approach life in a selfish manner. Christ’s words provide a shock to the expected order.

I have to admit my helplessness and inability to provide the ultimate answer for myself. I have to admit that I can’t solve my ultimate sin and selfishness problem. I have to admit that the God of the Bible has the answers. It is this realization, this humility that God is looking for: God I am bankrupt without you.

Isaiah 66:2 – For all those things My hand has made, and all those things exist,” says the LORD. ” But on this one will I look: on him who is poor and of a contrite spirit, and who trembles at My word.

There are no spiritual virtues that I source within myself. Not faith (Rom 12:3), not grace (1 Cor 15:10), not wisdom or intelligence (Prov 2:6), not natural ability (Dan 1:17), etc.

James 1:17 – Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and comes down from the Father of lights, with whom there is no variation or shadow of turning.

Facing this realization is the important thing. In my own life I’ve learned to pray like an alcoholic. That is, to pray admitting my problems and inabilities to solve them myself. “God, you have to help me, because there’s no way out of this sin on my own.” God responds to this change of heart immediately and with power. Though I may be weak and totally unable to conquer your problems, God will enable me to stand and to endure. “A bruised reed He will not break, and smoking flax He will not quench” (Isa 42:3). “When I am weak, then I am strong” (2 Cor 12:10).

“When we have a realization of our weakness, we learn to depend upon a power not inherent.” {Desire of Ages 493.3}

“There is a remedy for the sin-sick soul. That remedy is in Jesus. Precious Saviour! His grace is sufficient for the weakest; and the strongest must also have His grace or perish.” {Testimonies vol. 1 158.1}

I hope you have a poor day today. Find your strength in the true God. For then the kingdom of heaven will be yours.

Leave a Reply

